You Can Decorate High School Classrooms Too!

Have you ever noticed when you Google classroom decoration ideas all that comes up are elementary school rooms? I sifted through so many Google pages, Pinterest pins and teacher blogs, but to no avail. I started getting so desperate, I would sit and think to myself, “Well maybe I can make my classroom into a rainforest or a pirate ship.” I got that out of my head when I imagined my big kids picking prizes out of a treasure chest.

Why is there such a lack of high school resources online? I know us secondary teachers have great ideas and I definitely know that teenagers need the razzmatazz just as much (if not more) than the little ones. It’s this nagging question combined with the even larger absence of journalism resources that inspired me to start this blog. I hope you follow along with on my journey!

Well, here we are two weeks into the school year. About half way through the summer I gave up on room research and got creative. I decided to share a few pictures from my room.

I created these in InDesign and printed them as 8x10s at Walmart. I found most of the sayings on Internet memes.

I created these in InDesign and printed them as 8x10s at Walmart. I found most of the sayings on Internet memes.

When I started teaching, I was surprised at how much teenagers wanted to know about me. This year I went ahead and created an about me board on the side of my desk.

When I started teaching, I was surprised at how much teenagers wanted to know about me. This year I went ahead and created an about me board on the side of my desk.

I modge podged issues of our paper and magazine cut-outs to this plain $15 barstool I got at Target.

I modge podged issues of our paper and magazine cut-outs to this plain $15 barstool I got at Target.

I have three lines to hang student work - Dazzling Designs, Wondrous Writing and Fabulous Photos

I have three lines to hang student work – Dazzling Designs, Wondrous Writing and Fabulous Photos

Here’s close-up of the glitter pins. I got wood glue and poured gold glitter over them to get the finish. You can put modge podge over the glitter to prevent the glitter from falling off. I didn’t though, and it’s been fine so far.

I have the computers along the wall and tables for group work in the middle. I love how I can see all the screens if I'm standing in the middle.

I have the computers along the wall and tables for group work in the middle. I love how I can see all the screens if I’m standing in the middle.

My pride and joy. I designed these on InDesign and printed them as posters at Walmart. I found these frames at Hobby Lobby for 50% off. I love the way they look in my classroom! Kids always comment on them!

My pride and joy. I designed these on InDesign and printed them as posters at Walmart. I found these frames at Hobby Lobby for 50% off. I love the way they look in my classroom! Kids always comment on them!

We've all seen these floating around Pinterest. I bought the frames at Target and the paper inserts at Hobby Lobby. I have these for my intro clases.

We’ve all seen these floating around Pinterest. I bought the frames at Target and the paper inserts at Hobby Lobby. I have these for my intro clases.

Leave a Reply

